McDonald’s French Fries
Their french fries do not contain gluten or wheat as an ingredient – according to their Lebanese and UK websites. This was also confirmed by McDo’s own YourRightToKnow portal, which aims to answer questions from consumers about ingredients and food safety. However, the chain also warns of possible cross contact that could happen in the kitchen, so celiacs might want to skip meals prepared in the kitchens of this restaurant.
What About Hash Browns and Beef Patties?
They claim they are gluten free. But again, cross contamination is likely.
The special tempura batter is made of wheat flour (contains gluten).
Yes! It is gluten free. Well, not if you get it with the cone, of course. And gluten might be present in McFlurry ingredients (Oreo and KitKat). According to YourRightToKnow, “gluten is also not present in all our Sundae toppings (Strawberry/Hot Fudge/Caramel).”
I have had McDo’s Hot Fudge Sundae (in a cup) several times before, and in several countries, and I never felt any symptoms. It’s usually dispensed by a machine outside the kitchen, you can often see it right in front of you when you’re ordering, but it’s always good to be cautious.
Buns contain gluten. However, a 2018 post by McDonald’s GB explains that all Big Mac burger ingredients do not contain gluten – except for the bun. So it is possible for one to order the content of a Big Mac without the bun, but it might be a risky move.
What Else is Gluten Free?
- All milkshakes (banana, chocolate, strawberry, vanilla)
- Orange juice
- Flat White, Toffee Latte, Latte, Cappuccino, Black Coffee, White Coffee, Hot Chocolate, Espresso
- Frozen Strawberry Lemonade
- Caramel Iced Frappé
- Mango & Pineapple Smoothie
- Iced Latte
- Strawberries and Cream Frappé
A Note On Dairy Ingredients
McDonald’s claims that their “buns do not contain any eggs or milk”. And for the sauces: The “Big Tasty sauce and Caesar Dressing (used in the Caesar Salad) contain diary.”